Home » Territory » Municipalities in the Park


Divided in 5 hamlets as the points of a star, the Municipality dates back to the Middle Ages; in the feudal period it was the realm of the Aleramici, but later, between 1386 and 1392, was ceded to the Republic of Genova.
The Stella San Giovanni, seat of City Hall, is shadowed by the ruins of the Aleramico Castle; heading up to the Giovo Pass, you reach the Sanctuary Nostra Signora del Salto, built in the XIX century. From Corona, with San Bernardo Church (1567), you continue towards Varazze to reach Stella's oldest parish church, San Martino, established in 1550 and rebuilt with three naves in Renaissance style. From San Martino you reach Gameragna, a village with a church and an oratory dedicated to San Sebastiano (XVI-XVII).
Continuing beyond the crossroads in Salto, you arrive in Santa Giustina, whose parish church hosts a painting by Luca Cambiaso. Can't miss a visit to the house-museum of Sandro Pertini, former Italian President of the Republic.

Province: Savona Region: Liguria | View on map
Official Website www.comune.stella.sv.it
(photo by PR Beigua)
Share on
IUCNUNESCOGGNEGNEuroparcFederparchiMinistero dell'AmbienteParchi di Liguria
Vuoi inviare una segnalazione di inaccessibilità di questo sito web?Invia segnalazione